The port of Cannes embarks on a large-scale renovation project

Oct. 2018
Port of Cannes
The port of Cannes embarks on a large-scale renovation project

Work to renovate and reinforce the Laubeuf and du Large seawalls began in early October in the port of Cannes. 

 

The work has been split into phases so as to limit the impact on the local economy and tourism. Consequently, it will be carried out from October to April for three consecutive years, 2018 to 2021.

 

Why has this project been undertaken?

 

The Laubeuf and du Large seawalls sustain considerable damage due to wave surges from the south and south-east. This damage is amplified as the constructions become weaker over time, thereby compromising the safety of the area around the port.

 

The main objective of this renovation work is to provide people and infrastructure with long-term protection against severe wave action, in harmony with the environment.

 

As well as being higher and broader, the renovated seawalls will be redesigned to include a promenade, offering walkers one of the most breath-taking panoramic views of the city of Cannes. 

 

The Cannes port seawall repair and renovation project is run by a consortium of contractors.

 

This major repair work is estimated to require an investment of €25.7M, €9.6M of which will be provided by Cannes city council and €0.6K by the CACPL local authority; more than €15.5M are to be invested by the Nice Côte d’Azur Chamber of Commerce and Industry.

 

Work schedule

 

The Laubeuf and du Large seawalls protect the old port of Cannes. The construction comprises several sections: the riprap Laubeuf seawall and its car park, the du Large seawall, the helipad and the pier head with its lighthouse.

 

The renovation work will be of an exceptionally large scale. It aims to reinforce the various sections of the seawall, and to this end, the natural riprap will be replaced by a protective shell made up of accropode blocks. A wave-return wall will also be constructed, to prevent future flooding of the car park and port infrastructure.

 

A panoramic promenade along the protective wall

 

The wave-return wall will be designed to incorporate a promenade open to the general public and accessible to people with reduced mobility. This new 360° promenade, over 400 metres long, will connect that of the quai Saint-Pierre to the facilities in the newly designed BoccaCabana district.

 

It will offer strollers a beautiful view of the bay of Cannes, from the Lérins islands to the Estérel. An elegant new addition to the landscape, it will enhance the beauty of the site and help improve quality of life for locals.

 

View the project’s information panels

Contact: 
M. Stéphane Attali
Adresse: 
France

COMMENTAIRES SUR CETTE ACTUALITE

Retrouvez toute l'actualité de Riviera Ports sur notre page Facebook en cliquant ici

Lancement d’un chantier d’ampleur exceptionnelle au port de Cannes

oct. 2018
Port de Cannes
Port de Cannes
Lancement d’un chantier d’ampleur exceptionnelle au port de Cannes

Les travaux de rénovation et de confortement des digues Laubeuf et du Large ont débuté en octobre au port de Cannes. 

 

Les travaux ont été phasés de manière à limiter l’impact sur l’activité économique et touristique. Ils se dérouleront en trois périodes d’octobre à avril, de 2018 à 2021.

 

Pourquoi ces travaux ?

 

Les digues Laubeuf et du Large subissent de nombreux dégâts importants lors de coups de mer de provenance sud /sud-est. Ils relèvent d’une faiblesse croissante de l’ouvrage qui met en péril la sécurité dans le secteur du Port.

 

L’objectif principal de ces travaux est de protéger à long terme les personnes et les biens des grands coups de mer et ce, dans le respect de l’environnement.

 

Plus hautes, plus larges, les digues seront également requalifiées en espace de promenade panoramique et offriront l’un des plus beaux points de vue de la ville de Cannes.

 

Le projet de réfection et de confortement de la digue Laubeuf et de la digue du Large du port de Cannes est porté par un groupement de maîtrise d'ouvrage.

 

Ces travaux importants sont estimés à 25.7 M€, dont 9,6 M€ à la charge de la Mairie de Cannes et 0,6 K€ à la charge de la Communauté d'agglomération Cannes Pays de Lérins (CACPL) ; plus de 15,5 M€ étant supportés par la CCI Nice Côte d’Azur.

 

Déroulement du chantier

 

Les digues Laubeuf et du Large protègent le Vieux port de Cannes. Cet ouvrage se compose de plusieurs tronçons : la digue Laubeuf en enrochement et son parking, la digue du Large, la plateforme de l'hélistation, le musoir surmonté d'un phare.

 

Le chantier sera d’une ampleur exceptionnelle. Il permettra le confortement des différentes sections de la digue, les enrochements naturels seront ainsi remplacés par une carapace constituée d’acropodes. Un mur chasse-mer sera également construit et permettra de mettre fin aux problèmes d’inondation du parking et des infrastructures portuaires.

 

Une promenade panoramique aménagée sur le mur de protection

 

Le mur chasse-mer sera aménagé pour accueillir une promenade ouverte au public, accessible aux personnes à mobilité réduite. Cette nouvelle promenade panoramique à 360°, de plus de 400 mètres de long, reliera celle du quai Saint-Pierre aux nouveaux aménagements de BoccaCabana.

 

Elle permettra aux promeneurs de contempler la baie de Cannes, des îles de Lérins jusqu’à l’Estérel. Elle contribuera indéniablement à la mise en valeur du site et participera à l’amélioration de la qualité du cadre de vie.

 

Voir les panneaux du projet

Contact: 
M. Stéphane Attali
Adresse: 
France

COMMENTAIRES SUR CETTE ACTUALITE

Retrouvez toute l'actualité de Riviera Ports sur notre page Facebook en cliquant ici