Green cruises: full steam ahead!

Jul. 2019
Port of Cannes
Green cruises: full steam ahead!

Pleasure boating, yachting, careening, coastal sailing, event areas and more... Everyone knows that the Port of Cannes harbours a broad range of activities, making it so rich and complex. One of these activities - Cruises - is currently experiencing an international boom. And Cannes is at the forefront of this upturn, with 420,000 passengers expected in 2019 and 56.5 million euros in economic benefits per year for the city... Business has been enjoying two-figure growth since 2017.

Why? It’s mainly down to two reasons:

  • The attractiveness of the city itself. All customer surveys back up this observation. Cannes is a strategic destination that enables professionals to market their offer.

  • The high level of expertise of the port and its teams when it comes to managing those famous security zones known as ISPS, similar to those found in airports, and which are absolutely essential for all cruise activities. This is a highly competitive advantage for the port, which is thus able to offer companies better management of passenger flows, resulting in precious time saving.

But we need to be careful. In order to preserve and develop the undeniable appeal of the city of Cannes, it is essential that all the activities taking place around the port adopt a sustainable development approach, ensuring their environmental impact remains as low as possible.

The port is fully and naturally committed to this approach alongside the city council, and has already obtained ISO 14001 certification and the “Clean Ports” label.

In a further illustration of this approach, on 25 July, driven by Cannes city council, an environmental charter will be signed by the council, the Chamber of Commerce and Industry and the world’s major cruise lines, which have a strong presence in Cannes. The goal is to set out a framework with environmental obligations that go beyond current regulations, turning “Green Cruises” into a reality in Cannes!

Adresse: 
France

COMMENTAIRES SUR CETTE ACTUALITE

Retrouvez toute l'actualité de Riviera Ports sur notre page Facebook en cliquant ici

Croisière verte : en avant toute !

juil. 2019
Port de Cannes
Croisière verte : en avant toute !

Plaisance, yachting carénage, côtiers, espaces événementiels… On le sait, le Port de Cannes est un port multi-activités ce qui en fait sa complexité et sa richesse. Parmi ces activités, le secteur de la Croisière bénéficie aujourd’hui d’une croissance importante au niveau international. Et à Cannes très précisément - avec 420 000 passagers attendus en 2019 et 56,5 millions d’euros de retombées économiques par an pour la ville - il s’agit d’une progression à deux chiffres depuis 2017.

Pourquoi ? Deux raisons essentiellement :

  • L’attractivité d’une ville. Toutes les enquêtes clients l’affirment. Cannes est une destination stratégique qui permet aux professionnels de commercialiser leur offre.

  • L’expertise du port et de ses équipes à gérer ces fameuses zones de sureté appelées « ISPS », semblables à celles que l’on trouve dans les aéroports, et qui sont absolument nécessaires à toute activité de croisière. Un avantage hautement concurrentiel et compétitif pour le port qui offre ainsi aux compagnies une meilleure gestion des flux de passagers et donc, un gain de temps précieux.

Mais attention. Pour garder et développer une forte attractivité de la ville de Cannes, il est essentiel que l’ensemble des activités qui se déroule sur le port s’inscrivent dans une démarche durable garantissant ainsi un impact environnemental le plus faible possible.

Le port est totalement et naturellement engagé dans cette démarche au côté de la Ville et bénéficie déjà des certifications « iso 14001 » et « Port Propre ».

Pour cette raison aussi, le 25 juillet prochain sera signée, sous l’impulsion de la Ville de Cannes, une charte environnementale entre la municipalité, la CCI et une des plus grandes compagnies de croisière au monde très présente à Cannes. L’objectif ? fixer un cadre avec des obligations environnementales, en avance sur la réglementation actuelle, faisant de la « Croisière Verte », une réalité à Cannes !

Adresse: 
France

COMMENTAIRES SUR CETTE ACTUALITE

Retrouvez toute l'actualité de Riviera Ports sur notre page Facebook en cliquant ici